Tippmann Pneumatics Inc. Homepage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Improved Accuracy on a Budget

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
GodlessRose View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GodlessRose Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Improved Accuracy on a Budget
    Posted: 13 November 2007 at 6:35am
I have a 98 Custom with ACT and a 20 oz CO2 tank that I use for woodsball. I would like to make it more accurate, but I don't want to spend a lot of money on upgrades. I have read through the upgrade FAQ and searched the forums a bit, but I am a bit of a noob, so I want to make sure I'm understanding this.

1) I know to match the paint to the bore of the barrel, so no need to suggest that.

2) I've read that accuracy declines if the speed is over 280 fps. Is this correct?

3) I need a better barrel. I've already ordered a used 14" J&J Ceramic on eBay, but it hasn't arrived yet. ($15.50, shipping included - I couldn't pass that up.) Supposedly that barrel gives a good compromise between accuracy and sound suppression, with little loss in gas efficiency. I sneak around and try to make every shot count, so it sounds like that would suit my style. Sound about right?

3) I've read about coating a barrel with Rain-X to improve performance. Is there any point in doing that with a J&J Ceramic?

4) I need an expansion chamber. I think this is particularly important since I plan to play in cold weather. I'm thinking of ordering an ACI Sub-Zero 6-stage, based on the glowing reviews it has received. Good choice?

5) I've read that a drop forward is required to use an expansion chamber, but I don't see why. Is this true? I'd rather not use a drop forward, actually.