Tippmann Paintball Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > News And Views > Thoughts and Opinions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Hi my name's Jeff and I do dumb research.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Forum's Noam Chomsky

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote agentwhale007 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hi my name's Jeff and I do dumb research.
    Posted: 14 September 2015 at 6:45pm
Hello. 

You know me as Whale, as I have been posting here since I was in middle school. Now I'm a professor. Exactly 25% of my paid duties involve conducting scholarly research. In the year since I graduated with my doctorate, I tried doing the research that I thought would be impressive to other people. It was uninspired. It kinda sucked. I am tired of doing it. 

At some point over this summer, when I relaxed for the first time in at least a decade, I came to a conclusion. I was floating in a swimming pool after consuming a legitimate amount of Miller Lite. I came to the conclusion that I am a professor now. I can research literally anything I want to. I don't have to impress anyone anymore. Screw it, dude. I can indulge the things I am honestly interested in. 

Here's my research lineup for the next calendar year: 

• A content analysis of how the national media presents the identities of "Millennials." I'm looking at a few thousand news articles that discuss what Millennials are, through there attitudes, habits, behaviors, etc. to see how the media paints a picture of people born from 1980 to 1995. Namely I'm looking at the psychological idea of "Othering" through a linguistic lens to see how the media portrays Millennials as outsiders to society.