Tippmann Paintball Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Tippmann Paintball > Paintball Ideas / News From Tippmann
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Sniping in Paintball

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author
Platinum Member
Platinum Member
And my axe...

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stratoaxe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sniping in Paintball
    Posted: 24 May 2005 at 12:32am

I'm new to the forum, so I thought I'd open up a really nasty can of worms. I've read alot on this board that has to do with sniping. I wanted to give some idiot newbie input. I've been playing paintball for a couple of years, but I've always studied militaria. That's why I play. Sniping, despite common misconceptions, isn't one shot one kill, nor is it hiding in the woods. Those are basic military principles. Sniping is a skill. I know a couple of ex-snipers. Snipers are trained to do many things at once-but most of the time they hide-usually directed at a single target. I'm afraid too many newbies, including me when I first grabbed a gun, start paintball fresh off the online video games like Delta Force, and plan on using those tactics in paintball. I got a serious lesson in getting beat the first time I played trying to snipe fellow player. What I learned is that to create the speed and distance in a paintball to snipe, it would almost have to be lethal. Therefore to be a "sniper" in paintball-assuming the definition of a sniper is not what does, but the skill in which he does it-you would have to be an expert with your gun. The key to being a sniper is to stay hidden. They teach you in the military to stay hidden at all costs. How many people in reality can actually take another player out without his locaion being compromised? Sitting in a trench waiting for another player is an ambush. Staying hidden isn't sniping, it's called woodsball. What would sniping be in paintball, then? In my opinion, sniping is going